Louisiana Medical Group Management Association

MGMA-Louisiana Member National Awards

National MGMA selects recipients from their national membership
to be recognized in various categories each year.

Louisiana members have been honored with many of these awards including:Harry J. Harwick Lifetime Achievement Award - the highest recognition given to an individual who has displayed a lifetime of achievement, and made outstanding nationally recognized contributions to health care delivery, administration, and/or education in medical group practice.  Louisiana members who have received this award are:

  • 2015  Alan J. Beason, FACMPE

  • 2013  Edgar H. Silvey, MPH, MBA, CMPE, FACHE
Previous years: 
  • 2001  Francis “Mel” Manning, FACMPE
  • 1982  Edgar J. Saux, FACMPE

Medical Practice Executive of the Year - recognizes exceptional leadership and management proficiency to enhance strategic and operational effectiveness of health care delivery.

  • 2001   Edgar H. “Ed” Silvey, FACHE, CMPE
Fred Graham Award for Innovation in Improving Community Health - recognizes a medical group practice that has developed creative and innovative activities and solutions to advance the effectiveness of health care delivery and improve community health.

  • 2008 Stewart J. Clark, PhD

Legislative Liaison Award - recognizes a medical practice professional who has provided outstanding leadership in the education and motivation of MGMA members through grassroots involvement on legislative and regulatory issues of importance to medical group practices.
  • 2004 Bret Talbot

MGMA Edward B. Stevens Article of the Year - recognizes a medical practice professional who has made a substantial contribution to the body of published literature to foster more effective and efficient health care delivery in the field of medical practice management


  • 2005 Kenneth T. “Ken” Hertz, FACMPE

Chairs/Presidents of MGMA
  • 2000 Robert L. Goldstein, FACMPE
  • 1964 Edgar J. Saux, FACMPE

Government Affairs Committee Chair 2007-2009:
  • Edgar H. "Ed" Silvey, MPH, CMPE

ACMPE Chairs:
  • 2010 Alan J. Beason, FACMPE
  • 1994 Robert L. Goldstein, FACMPE
  • 1987 Francis “Mel” Manning, FACMPE
  • 1977 Edgar J. Saux, FACMPE

2012 Participation Rewards Program for Cost Survey:
Louisiana was one of 2 states selected for this honor; board members received a plaque at the annual State Leaders Conference in Denver, Colorado. Shown in this photo accepting the award are Louise Derise, FACMPE, and Lafe Jones.

Copyright, 2015 MGMA Louisiana

MGMA-Louisiana State Office / Phone: (985)290-8020/ 1527 Gause Blvd. #105/ Slidell, LA 70458

Advancing Leaders. Advancing PracticesTM